My Results with Good Form Running by Warren

“Love what you do – Do what you love!”  That is the driving force behind everything we do at Metro Run & Walk and part of that is being able to be a part of your journey toward being a healthier, stronger, and happier you.  So rather than listening to us, here is what some of our participants in the Good Form™ Running clinics and our training programs have had to say.

MY RESULTS

by Warren

Thought you might be interested in how one of Metro Run and Walk’s (in Springfield, VA) “first” First Steps 5K/10k Fitness Training Program students fared at a race today!  I finished my first race this morning, a gorgeous day in the Capital City.  Sunny, clear, with temps in the mid-60s.

In my age group, I finished 6th out of 12!  I did even better amongst the 28 first-time racers finishing 5th. I finished 89th out of 177 men.  My initial goal when I signed up at the beginning of August was to run better than a 10 minute/mile pace, which I later revised to 9 minutes/mile.  I was happy to beat both of those goals!  Also, I wanted to finish in the top half of my age division, which I accomplished.  I also barely missed, by one place, finishing in the top half of the men overall.  Well, I’m happy!

Thank you for helping me to accomplish these goals.  The First Steps program has been great.  I would never have guessed 3 months ago that I would be capable of running this distance at all, without taking several recovery walks in between.  And I certainly wouldn’t have thought that I could maintain an 8:41 pace for 5 miles.  Onward and upward!

This entry was posted in On Training, Training Programs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

