MCM 2013 Training: End of Week 1 (6/30/13) Following the Hansons Marathon Method

Co-owner, Metro Run & Walk, Certified Pedorthist, and Runner Walker

Co-owner, Metro Run & Walk, Certified Pedorthist, and Runner
Walker

In my previous post, I shared that I am training for this year’s Marine Corps Marathon, that I’m serious about following a plan, and that I an training to run a 4:00 marathon. That is quite a stretch based on my previous times, but you’ve got to have a goal, right? I am following the Hansons Marathon Method, A Renegade Path To Your Fastest Marathon.

Just finished with the first week of training.   The actual beginner’s training plan calls for:

  • Monday:  off
  • Tuesday: easy 2 miles
  • Wednesday:  off
  • Thursday: easy 3 miles
  • Friday:  off
  • Saturday:  easy 3 miles
  • Sunday:  easy 4 miles

I am a bit ahead of the first few weeks so I continued to build base while adding a Tempo run to my week.  So my week looked like:

  • Monday:  easy 4 miles
  • Tuesday: off
  • Wednesday:  easy 5 miles
  • Thursday: Tempo run 4 miles
  • Friday:  easy 5 miles
  • Saturday:  off
  • Sunday:  easy 8 miles

This week I am listening to Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders, a collection of short stories and poetry by English author Neil Gaiman.

My conclusions at the end of this first week:

  1. Really love your shoes.  When marathon training, you’ve got to really love your running shoes.  You’ll be spending an inordinate amount of time in them.  I’m running in the Hoka One One Stinson Trail with a Spenco Total Support insert and a P4 Wedge under my big toes.  The Stinsons have a crazy amount of cushioning.  They are considered to be a maximally cushioned shoe originally designed for ultra-distance runners.  My feet are my “Achilles heel” so to speak so I’ve got to take care of them.  I had a stress fracture two years ago and I’m not going to get another one to derail my training.
  2. Take care of your feet.  Don’t drop things on them.  Keep your toenails trimmed.  Don’t let your callouses build up too much. Don’t cut your foot.  I hit something with my left foot and cut the lateral part of my foot.  Running didn’t feel awesome with the shoe rubbing my cut.
  3. Really like what you’re listening to.  I really like Neil Gaiman.  Prior to Fragile Things, I’ve listened to American Gods, The Graveyard Book, and Stardust. This week, I discovered that I really like Neil Gaiman novels.  Not so much short stories.  Some of the stories make no sense to me!  I do appreciate the length of the audio chapters however.  Makes for very convenient starting and stopping of the audio files.
  4. Read the training plan.  Over and over and over again.  Every time I pick it up I learn something new or I better understand something I read before.
  5. Plan your week in advance.  On Sunday, look over the week’s plan.  Figure out when and where you’re going to run.  Since every day is different, you need to kind of know your own schedule, when you can get your run in, what you need to reschedule so you can get your run in.  Look at the weather forecast for the entire week.  Factor that into your planning.  I didn’t do a good job of this and found myself running in the hottest part of the day (mid-afternoon) only to run again 17 hours later on the next day.  Plan your week in advance.
  6. I’ve come to enjoy the run again.  Yes, sometimes its hot.  Yes, sometimes its raining.  Yes, my legs are sometimes tired. But, I already feel that I’m running stronger and I only really feel the fatigue during the first half mile or so until I’m in a rhythm.
  7. Embrace it!  This is probably the biggest thing I’ve come to realize this week.  I AM DOING THIS.  I AM NOT LETTING OTHER THINGS GET IN THE WAY.  Embrace it.

So as you can see, I’ve learned a lot leading up to the conclusion of the first week of my training with the Hansons Marathon Method.  Already looking to Week 2.

This entry was posted in Articles, On Training, Training Programs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MCM 2013 Training: End of Week 1 (6/30/13) Following the Hansons Marathon Method

  1. Pingback: MCM 13: Week 5 Training with the Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  2. Pingback: MCM 13: Week 4 Training with Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  3. Pingback: MCM 13: Week 3 Training with the Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  4. Pingback: MCM 13: Week 2 Training with the Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

Leave a Reply

