MCM 13: Week 3 Training with the Hansons Marathon Method

Week 3 Training with Hansons Marathon Method

It was a good week of hot, humid, Florida running.  Because I knew that the terrain would be flat, I decided to focus on trying to maintain a sub-10 pace for the week.  Given that I want to run a 4:00 marathon, my easy pace should be 1-2 minutes slower than marathon pace.

Sidenote:   We were down in Kissimmee for our daughter’s AAU Nationals Basketball Tournament.  Her team finished in 11th place, Division II.  They started with 10 healthy players.aau  In game 3, three of our players went out with tournament ending injuries.  Remaining seven players continued to play good, strong basketball.  In game 5, two more of our players went out with tournament ending injuries.  The “Fighting Five” and the “Fallen Five”( as the coach referred to the girls) continued to fight and ended up finishing in 11th place.  Oh, were it not for those injuries…

Anyway, back to my marathon training.

Hanson Marathon Method Week 3 Plan and My Actual

Hanson Marathon Method Week 3 Plan and My Actual

During the drive down to Florida, read the chapter on nutrition and hydration.  There is a lot to understand, so I really just focused on hydration.  It reinforced some of what I already knew but also taught me a thing or two:

Even a 2% decrease in hydration stores (or  3 pounds of sweat for a 150-pound runner) can affect physical performance.  Sweat rates can reach up to 1-2 pounds on a cool, dry day.  Sweat rate is the amount of sweat a person produces per hour.  Most often, it is described in terms of pounds or ounces per hour.

Physical response to dehydration include:

– impaired cardiovascular functions

– impairment of the body’s ability to dissipate heat

– gastrointestinal distress

– cause an imbalance in electrolytes crucial to muscle contraction

– decrease in VO2 max which causes you to burn through glycogen stores at a much higher rate

– cognitive impairment

sports nutrition endurance athletesThat doesn’t sound good for anyone, let alone someone running to achieve a specific goal.  I’ll have to figure out my sweat rate so that I can hydrate appropriately.   Appendix B on pg 234 has a Sweat Loss Calculator which was adapted by Monique Ryan, Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes.

The temperature of the fluid can also increase or decrease absorption.  At rest there appears to be no difference; during exercise, however, cooler fluids seem to leave the stomach much faster, while room-temperature drinks are more effectively utilized.  The stomach is where food is primarily broken down, with actual absorpation and utilization occurring in the small intestine.

Well, that’s interesting, but room-temperature Gatorade or Powerade is just plain nasty in my opinion.  (apologies to the manufacturers).  The book spends a lot of time discussing fueling and hydration in relation to race day and reminds the reader that these factors are equally important during training.

Chronic dehydration plays an important role in athletic performance and that proper hydration takes a conscious effort every day.   If a runner is already slightly dehydrated going into an event, he or she will reach critical points of dehydration much sooner than an athlete who is well hydrated.

Until recently, I haven’t done that. So, now I’m really focusing on drinking water throughout the day.

General hydration rules of thumb described on pages 163-164:

Start early.  Drink within the first 10-20 minutes of running.

Drink 2-8 ounces of fluid every 15-20 miutes.

Keep in mind that its easier to drink more during the early stages of a run or race. If you drink more early on and keep replacing fluids regularly, you will keep the stores topped off.  This creates the fastest gastric emptying, which means more rapid absorption of water, electrilyes and carbohydrates.

Count the gulps.  One gulp is roughly equal to 1 ounce of fluid.  Try for 4-6 gulps/.

Don’t overdo it.

During my runs, I generally follow those rules.  My problem is that I’m not efficient about my fluid intake.  I’m running along, then I stop, take out my water bottle from my belt, open the top, take a few gulps, put the top back on, put the water bottle back in my belt, smooth my shirt and skort, and then resume running.  You can imagine that many precious seconds pass during my water stops.  I’ll time it and then practice efficiency this week while trying to maintain a sub 10 pace.

Monday 7/8:  Easy 4 along the beach on A1A Fernandina Beach, Florida as we are making our away to Kissimmee, FL .

Run an easy (but faster) 4 miles with Mark this morning.  37:16.  Not bad for a slowpoke like me, especially after the hilly 7 miler yesterday.ocean road

As I was running, I got to thinking… Why does it seem like running along the beach is so much harder than it should be?  Is it that you can see forever in front of you?  I think the beach city planners put signs out to mock you.  1st street, 2nd street, 3rd street, etc.  You know that each street is about a 10th of a mile from the next.  Really? Feels water towerlike by the time you’ve gotten to 5th street, you’ve already run 5 miles, not a half mile.  You know that you will be running 2 miles out to the water tower.  You keep running and running and it seems like that water tower stays the same distance away.

Tuesday 7/9 Easy 4.7, time 46:02

Arrived in Kissimmee yesterday and will be here until Saturday.  Was on Gmap.pedometer last night for nearly an hour trying to find somewhere to run where I didn’t have to drive.  We are staying in a condo along Rt 172, a busy 4 lane route.  No shade.  No sidewalks.  One of the team dads said that there are some undeveloped roads across the highway, so I headed over myself this morning to find somewhere to run.

I found a sideroad that had a little bit of shade so I headed down.  Turns out that down and back was 1.1 with some shade on both sides of the road (if you got out early enough).  Sidewalk on both sides as well.  I was feelling a bit like the duck at the shooting range in the carnival game… down and back, down and back, down and back.  After the 3rd down and back, decided to dip into one of the resorts at the end of the road.  Found a nice little lake to run around which extended the down, around the lake and back to about 1.5 miles.  I’ll do that again on Thursday.duck

Of course, the imagery of the duck in the shooting range came to me because this week, I’m listening to Joyland, by Stephen King which is set in a small-town North Carolina amusement park in 1973.

Wednesday 7/10 – off

Thursday 7/11 – 5.25 miles, 50:25,

Focused on managing my fluid intake according to the plan.  Used my old method for the first water stop.  I timed it and it took 26 seconds!  If I am going to take water at every mile marker which is approximately every 10 minutes right now, that’a a crap load of time.

26 seconds * 26 miles = 11:26 minutes taking fluids.  That’s lot of time when trying for a new personal best.

So, I practice pulling my water bottle from my belt while continuing to run, prepping the bottle while running and only stopping long enough to drink and swallow.  Restart running as soon as I got the last swallow down.  Pretty consistently took 9 seconds.

9 seconds * 26 miles = 3 minutes taking fluids.

That’s much better.  I’ve already gained 8 minutes.  I’ll continue to work on this especially on longer runs.

Friday  7/12 – 5.1 miles, 50:16

Hot, boring run on the same course described above but I enjoyed listening to more of the book Joyland.

Saturday 7/13 – 5 miles, 48:30

My last hot, boring run on the same course.  Soon as I finish its time to pack up, go to the last basketball game and then get on the road to drive back home.

Later in the day after 7 hours in the car… OMG I’m stiff.

Sunday  7/14 – 6.48 miles, 1:05:00

Tired, dead legs throughout most of the run.  Ran with Mark in Manning, SC where we stopped for the night.  Little southern town founded in 1855.  crepe2Lots of blooming crepe myrtle trees lining the streets although there wasn’t much else to look at during the run.  We did run through the downtown area and saw the courthouse.  Appears the local economy is suffering based on the number of closed businesses.  Pretty good BBQ though.

All in all, a good week of running.  Looking forward to being home though.  Until next week, stay healthy and run smart with the really hot weather forecasted for this week.

This entry was posted in Articles, On Training, Training Programs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to MCM 13: Week 3 Training with the Hansons Marathon Method

  1. Pingback: MCM13: My training ends… | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  2. Pingback: MCM13: Week 13 & 14 Training with Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  3. Pingback: MCM13: Week 12 Training with Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  4. Pingback: MCM13: Week 11 Training with Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  5. Pingback: MCM13: Week 10 Training with Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  6. Pingback: MCM13: Week 8 with the Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  7. Pingback: MCM 13: Week 6 Training with the Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  8. Pingback: MCM 13: Week 5 Training with the Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

  9. Pingback: MCM 13: Week 4 Training with Hansons Marathon Method | Run, Walk, Live in Springfield, Virginia

Leave a Reply

