Journey to Marine Corps Marathon 2014

Hi!  I'm Addie!

Hi! I’m Addie!

 

Hello everyone!  I’m Addie.  I am a 30 year old mom of two, elementary school teacher, part time running store ninja, and I’m getting married this October!  Oh, I’m also training for the Marine Corps Marathon!  Sound like fun??  Yeah, I didn’t think so either, but here we go!

 

That’s right, 18 weeks from today I will be taking on the Marine Corps Marathon.  I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a seasoned or veteran runner.  The first time I ever ran more than the required one mile for PE was in the Spring of 2010 when I helped coach a kids running club.  I ran my first 5k with a group of kids from a very disadvantaged area.  It took me just a hair over 37 minutes and I desperately wanted to walk.  Training for that 5k was exhausting, hard, and no fun.  Once I finished that 5k, however, I felt such a sense of accomplishment!

I finished!  It took 2:24, and I swore I'd never do it again.

I finished! It took 2:24, and I swore I’d never do it again.

That Fall we started up our kids running club again, and one of my co-coaches was diagnosed with lymphoma.  It was a terrible shock and I felt lost and out of control of the situation.  Only a few days after the news came through, I heard about Team in Training and registered to run the Shamrock Virginia Beach Half Marathon and raise money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

I trained throughout the Winter, and in March of 2011 I completed my first half marathon.  It wasn’t fast or pretty, but I finished.  By mile nine I was DONE.  I will admit to you now that my “training” consisted of running my weekly long run, and nothing else.  I don’t recommend it.  I felt good knowing I had accomplished something, but didn’t feel the need to do it again.  Just a few weeks after completing the half, I started working part time at Metro Run & Walk, and one condition of employment at the time was participating on the store team for the Marine Corps Marathon.  As terrifying as this sounded, I agreed and started training with our wonderful training group.

There are lots of details about the following three years I could bore you with.  How I finished the marathon just under five hours and it felt fantastic.  How I fell in love with someone while I was training, trained with him, ran with him, and eventually found myself broken hearted and unable to run anymore without being haunted by the memories of running every road and trail with him.  How for two years I barely squeaked out ten runs, and then gave myself a stress fracture by attempting to jump straight back into racing without proper training.  I’ve got lots of stories, but given that we are just starting to get to know each other, I’ll spare you.  The important thing for us all to know is this:  I’m back.  I set a new 5k PR last month of 25:28 (quite a change from that first one) and I’ve gotten my half marathon time to under two hours.  I’ve got over 400 miles on my legs so far this year (with a goal of 1,000), and lots to look forward to, and I’m looking forward to sharing it with you!

So, train along with me for Marine Corps 2014.  Or follow along laughing at all the pain I am choosing to inflict on myself while you sit comfortably on the couch.  My training will follow the Hal Higdon Intermediate 1 training plan.  I’m a big fan of Hal Higdon plans.  For one, the fact that he offers all his plans (5k-marathon) completely free and with a ton of explanation and guidance is an amazing thing to find.  I also feel like his plans help build miles gradually and help prevent injury.  I will warn you now that I will not be sticking too religiously to his plan.  In an effort to keep myself motivated, back in January I registered myself for a race every month, which will occasionally alter my mileage and plans.  I will be updating weekly on Sundays, and my next update should be amusing – I leave for Costa Rica this Thursday.  Running in the heat – here I come!

This was me at mile 9ish of the 2011 Marine Corps Marathon

This was me at mile 9ish of the 2011 Marine Corps Marathon

This entry was posted in Articles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

