A Deferral Debate

Hi friends.  Here we are, officially three weeks into marathon training, and I’m feeling sluggish.  As I mentioned in my very first blog post, I find myself in a very different place this year vs. last year.  Last year I had hit the ground running in January, racing on a monthly basis and bringing all of my PRs down.  By the time it hit marathon training time, running was a habit I was good at, and making running a priority was easy.

This year is not that year.  I’ve been sluggish at best with my running all year.  Last year I felt like I had something to prove just by finishing another marathon.  This year I don’t just want to finish, I want it to be great.  My training so far has been rocky and I find myself missing as many runs as I go on.  Three weeks in is awfully premature to throw in the towel, and I’m not there yet, but I am certainly debating myself.

I KNOW it can be done.  I know I could turn this all around and get it done.  I know I could even PR.  But it will be much harder than it should be, especially given my lack of a strong base.  I also know that if someone walked in to the store and told me their story, and it sounded like mine, I’d suggest they take some time to get to where they need to be.

Another option I’m musing over, is deferring MCM and running Richmond instead.  It would let me have these last three weeks back, given me a little do-over, while still letting my get in a marathon this year, and trying to use MCM next year for another shot.

Running a marathon is making a big commitment.  It is a distance that must be respected, and if you aren’t well prepared, it can end up really ruining your day.

I’m not sure yet what this week will bring, and the deferral window doesn’t open until August.  For now, I’m going to keep trying to plug along.  Keep trying to prioritize running.  And hopefully next week I’ll feel a bit more certain about where to go from here.

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

