5 Before 35 – One Month Later

About a month ago I shared how I fell apart when I turned 30, and shared the running goals I had given myself before I turned 35.  It has been a month since I really decided to work on those goals, and I thought I’d quickly check back in.

Goal #1 – Run a 4:30 marathon.  This is absolutely a long range goal for me, and I don’t expect to get there this year (also, I’m not running a marathon in the next two months).  I am currently making plans to run the Austin Marathon in February, but that will be more of an effort of getting my distance back up, and not a race I want to focus on my time.  It doesn’t help that it is a particularly hilly race.  Thanks to my deferral this year, I have a guaranteed spot in the 2016 Marine Corps Marathon – where I hope to hit this time goal.  In the meantime I am getting back on the road, regaining the habit of running, and rebuilding distances.

Goal #2 –  Run an ultra.  See goal #1.  Pretty sure this is a long way off, but I’m on the right track!

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 9.03.26 PM

Safe Wake!

Goal #3 – Race with my dog.  This one I have been making some progress towards!  This is my dog Wake.  He was a rescue pup that we had thought was a border collie mix.  He’s about nine months old now, and we are starting to doubt our original thoughts, given he has seemingly stopped growing and is only a touch over 25 pounds.  One thing about Wake, however, is that he does LOVE to run.  Due to the fact that he is still a pup, I can’t take him on terribly long runs, but on the days when I do just a short evening one miler to keep up on my streak (that’s the next goal!), Wake is my buddy.  Our runs aren’t always very pretty – sometimes Wake decides it would be more fun to run in crazy circles around me or pull the leash – but he LOVES them.  We tend to only run at night, so I put my amphipod reflective magnets on the sides of his harness, and he has come to realize that those magnets mean it is go time.  He’s a pretty happy guy!

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 9.10.09 PMGoal #4 – 100 Day Running Streak.  I am happy to report that I have finished the first 26 days of this (and as soon as this post is written and my daughter is tucked in – I will head out with Mr. Wake for day number 27!).  Now, I know there are some holes in the calendar to the left, but those are the days when I have found myself running on a treadmill instead of outside.  You may notice many of my runs are not very long, and most are very slow, but I’m proud of my consistency!  There has been a day or two where it has been a challenge to convince myself to head out, and if you look close you will see a great many of those runs are happening after 9pm (which will happen again tonight, and I talked about in the running on a schedule post from last week!).  I have been bribing myself along the way with little rewards, but I’ll tell you more about that another day.

Goal #5 – 1,000 mile year.  Look at 2016.  The plan is two marathons, and between training for those races, and hoping to get back to a few of my favorite races in the DC area (Frederick Running Festival has a special place in my heart), I think it may be my year!

What running goals do you have for yourself?  How do you plan to achieve them?  Til next time!

This entry was posted in On Training and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Before 35 – One Month Later

  1. David Chalmers says:

    Great job on the consistency! Kudos to you for going out after 9pm, as I definitely find that one incredibly difficult. Good luck on your marathon training and goals!

Leave a Reply

