Mile #1

Today I went out for my first run of the summer.  You read that right.  On August 10th.  This is not really the best news for me.  My plans for the summer had involved marathon training for both Marine Corps as well as the New York City Marathon.  Instead I find myself running my very first mile of the summer (and only a single mile at that) here in mid August.

For those of you who have followed along for a few years, you may be not shocked.  My perpetually falling on and off the running wagon is a theme of this blog as well as my life.  When my summer started I started traveling, and stopped running.  If there’s one thing I’ve learned it is that it is incredibly easy to lose stamina and enthusiasm.  For me, at least, once I am out of the habit, it is incredibly hard to get it back together.

Luckily for me, however, the time of year when I tend to be the most motivate is fast approaching.  While most people tend to start a new and feel motivated around New Years, as a teacher my year tends to begin in September.  Last year when I completed my 100 day running streak, it all started on the very first day of school.

I hope your summers and your training have been going well and injury free, and I can’t wait to talk to all you Marine Corps runners about your race this fall!!

Until next time!

-Addie

This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

